Jack Catterall on Ohara Davies – He Quits

JACK CATTERALL BELIEVES a blueprint has been established for defeating super lightweight rival Ohara Davies, with the pair set to meet in the ring on October 6 at the Leicester Arena, live and exclusive on BT Sport.

The Chorley southpaw, now working out of the North West base of new trainer Jamie Moore, has studied the highlight reel of Davies’ sole loss to Josh Taylor in July 2017, although it was not a fight he watched live as he was present on the same night at the Copper Box supporting his promotional stablemates.

Word quickly reached him that the unbeaten record of the then flamboyant Davies had gone up in smoke in Scotland via a seventh round stoppage and Catterall suspects his next opponent sought an exit from the fight when the going got tough.

However, the former British champion accepts that Davies poses a fairly unique puzzle for him to solve given the reach advantage he holds over most opponents.

“Listen, I respect him as a fighter,” insisted the 25-year-old in his latest Fighter Diary posted on www.frankwarren.com. “He can fight and he’s had a few alright wins although I don’t think he has beat anyone great.

“He’s been beat and we’ve seen the blueprint. He quits. He’s got long arms, I don’t believe he is the greatest boxer so we will just see on October 6 how I dismantle him.

“He is an unusual one to prepare for given his dimensions but one thing I do believe is my timing and distance is something that works for me. I’ve sparred Bradley Skeete and a lot of tall awkward fighters.

“I won’t have too much trouble preparing for Davies.”
Davies has vowed not to stoke the fires ahead of the fight with any provocation on social media, which Catterall says suits him just fine, but he will respond in kind if any pot-shots do end up being posted in his direction.

“There might or might not be a bit more spice in the build up to this fight, but I like to think to think I don’t get too involved in it all.

“I’ll definitely not be taken for an idiot. If you have got something to say, then say it and I will respond. I’m not out there to troll any fighter and talk nonsense to build a fight.

“Everyone is looking forward to this one, they know it is a good fight and I don’t believe there is any reason to talk trash. I am just excited to get the fight on.

“Hopefully this will be the final step for me towards challenging for a world title. I have defended the WBO Intercontinental so many times that I should have a ring for it by now!

“This should be a good fight to set me up for the next step and I won’t be running away from him – I am coming to beat him. I am sure he will be doing likewise because he needs a good win more than I do.”

‘The Time Is Now’ is headlined by Jack Catterall v Ohara Davies. Leicester’s own, Lyon Woodstock defends his WBO European Super-Featherweight title against Archie Sharp. Heavyweight prospect Daniel Dubois takes on former world title challenger Kevin Johnson. Olympian and double gold medallist Nicola Adams will be fighting Isabel Millan for the Interim WBO World Female Flyweight Title and Leicester’s British Super-Featherweight champion Sam Bowen also feature on a major night of boxing televised live on BT Sport.

Tickets are priced at £40, £60, £100, £150, £200 and are available to purchase from Eventbrite and Ticketmaster.

The Arena Spreads its Wings

Leicester Arena Celebrates

Following the Leicester Riders completing yet another winning season in 2016-17, including three lots of silverware, and the defence of their League title, the Morningside Arena has been focussing on seeking out new business opportunities in a wide range of sport and entertainment sectors.

The Arena has completed a busy few months since March with new Events to the fore – including a couple of Bollywood concerts, a Frank Warren boxing promotion, which was covered live on BT Sport, a SuperLeague netball match involving Loughborough University, a South African music event, the Leicester Mercury Business Awards, the L Factor charity singing event, and the national karate championships.

These Events are either new to Leicester, or are attracted by the potential 3,000 capacity in the arena, which has 62 metres by 41 metres floor space, by far the largest of any similar facility in the city of Leicester. Seating capacity, depending on the Event and staging, can go up to 2,800. The arena also has two large 7 metre by 3 metre screens that can show video backdrops, advertisements or promotions all adding to the spectacle and enjoyment of the evening.

What the venue does not have is a long track record in many of these Events, nor does it have established relationships with the various music and event promoters, so to that extent, the last few months have been extremely valuable in building that track record and credibility. What has been established is the Arena can be a really excellent music venue, with lots of flexibility in terms of staging and seating, and with plenty of room for concert goers to get around the venue, and get drinks and snacks.

The two Bollywood events have proved extremely popular, and were well received with big name artists from the subcontinent, and with the visitors from Leicester, the county and throughout the East Midlands. We have had multiple enquiries since those events, and a number of other events are already being pencilled in the diary.

The boxing event was also very well received, and boxing fans in Leicestershire can expect more events like this coming up in the fall.

So if you have an Event and need a large flexible space to stage it, come along and talk to Simon Ricketts and his team at the Arena.